(211911 .

No. 12/63/2014-BADP (Part-I) Government of India Ministry of Home Affairs (BM-II Division)

> New Delhı Dated 03 April, 2018

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Sub: Modified Guidelines of the Border Area Development Programme (BADP), June, 2015- clarification regarding.

Attention is invited to the letter dated 29th June, 2015 of the Department of Border Management, Ministry of Home Affairs vide which Modified Guidelines of the Border Area Development Programme (BADP) were circulated

2. In this regard, it is reiterated that the BADP Scheme is primarily meant for meeting special developmental needs of the people living in remote and inaccessible areas situated near the international border and to support these border areas with special infrastructure. Presently, this scheme covers 394 border blocks in 111 border districts of 17 States. The planning and implementation of this scheme has been decentralized and the modified BADP guidelines mandates that District Level Committee, headed by District Magistrate; with SP, DFO, District Planning Officer and representative of Border Guarding Force concerned as Members, prepare Annual Action Plan in consultation with local Member of Parliament, Members of Legislative Assembly; Members of PRIs, Autonomous Councils, community leaders, etc. This plan is approved by the State Level Screening Committee headed by the Chief Secretary and funds are allocated by the MHA.

3. However, it has been brought to the notice of this Ministry that in some cases infrastructure projects proposed in village/ habitation located beyond 10 kms of aerial distance from International Border are not considered by the District Level Committees as the villages located between 0-10 Kms from the International Border are stated to be not "saturated" from development/ infrastructure perspective This situation has apparently arose owing to the provision in para 2.1 of the BADP modified guidelines (June, 2015) which provides that "Only after saturation of 0-10 kms village, State Governments may take up the next set of villages within the 0-20 kms distance After saturation of 0-20 kms villages, the State Government may take up the next set of villages are stated to 0-50 km".

4 To obviate practical difficulties being faced by the District Level Committees in ascertaining the level of "saturation" of development/

infrastructure in the villages located between 0-10 kms of international border, it is felt necessary to clarify that the term "saturation' means provisions of basic essential infrastructure or level of development in a particular village/habitation. Therefore, it is reiterated that while focusing on meeting the critical infrastructural needs/ developmental requirements of villages/habitations located close to international border, District Level Committee may also consider projects located beyond 10 Kms but within 50 kms from the international border which are meant to address the special needs of border population like provisions of Schools, health centres, skill development centres, connectivity, etc. For the purpose of drawing the priority, the first habitation/village from the International Border shall be treated as 'Zero' line distance and next distance shall be calculated from this village only.

It is further reiterated that while preparing Annual Action Plan for the 5 Border Area Development Programme, proper attention needs to be given to the suggestions of Local Members of Parliament, Members of Legislative Assembly, Members of PRIs/ Autonomous Councils/Community leaders etc., for selection of works to address felt needs of the people so as to bridge the critical gaps in public infrastructure and services within the overall sectoral priorities Accordingly, it is reiterated that Local MP/MLA of the concerned district shall be invariably invited in the meetings convened at the District Level and State level for consideration and approval of the BADP Annual Action Plans.

This is issued with approval of the Competent Authority 6

(Pankaj Goyal) Director (BM-II) Tel. 011-23075317

The Chief Secretary,

VII i

Government of Arunachal Pradesh/ Assam/ Bihar/ Gujarat/ Himachal Pradesh/ Jammu & Kashmır/ Manipur/ Meghalaya/ Mizoram/ Nagaland/ Punjab/ Rajasthan/ Sikkim/ Tripura/ Uttar Pradesh/ Uttarakhand/ West Bengal